Providing Regional Climate Services to British Columbia

You are here


PCIC is a not-for-profit corporation at the University of Victoria that seeks to improve the delivery of regional climate services to key stakeholders in the Pacific and Yukon Region while remaining accountable to its Board of Directors and utilizing advice provided by its Program Advisory Committee (PAC).

Board of Directors

The PCIC Board of Directors includes representatives from a wide range of disciplines, resulting in a balanced and rational strategic vision. Current Board members include:

  • James Barnes, Manager, Corporate Engineering Initiatives, BC Ministry of Transportation & Infrastructure

  • Don Barnhardt, General Counsel, University of Victoria

  • Alain Bourque, Directeur Général, Ouranos

  • Lo Cheng, Executive Director, Canadian Centre for Climate Services, Environment and Climate Change Canada

  • Johannes Feddema, Professor and Chair, Department of Geography, University of Victoria

  • Heather MatthewsDirector, Generation Resource Management, BC Hydro

  • Adam H. Monahan, Professor, School of Earth and Ocean Sciences, University of Victoria

  • Terry Prowse, Professor and Chair Emeritus in Climate Impacts on Water Resources, Department of Geography, University of Victoria

  • Sybil Seitzinger, Executive Director, Pacific Institute for Climate Solutions, University of Victoria

  • Laird Shutt, Director General, Atmospheric Science and Technology Directorate, Environment and Climate Change Canada

  • Francis Zwiers, Director, President & CEO, Pacific Climate Impacts Consortium, University of Victoria

Program Advisory Committee

PAC members are drawn from the pool of consortium members and associates. The PAC provides direction and advice to the Director of PCIC on scientific content and priorities, stakeholder needs and participation in projects. Current PAC members include:

  • Yapo Allé-Ando, Water Resources Engineer, Teck Resources Ltd.

  • David Campbell, Section Head, River Forecast Centre, BC Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development

  • Nathan Gillett, Manager and Research Scientist, Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis, Environment and Climate Change Canada 

  • Adelana Gilpin-Jackson, Specialist Engineer, BC Hydro

  • Cathy LeBlanc, Senior Planner, BC Ministry of Community, Sport and Cultural Development

  • Kate Miller, Manager, Environmental Initiatives, Cowichan Valley Regional District

  • Dirk Nyland, Chief Engineer, BC Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure

  • Stephanie Smith, Manager, Hydrology and Technical Services, BC Hydro

  • Dave Spittlehouse, Research Climatologist, BC Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development

  • Tim Takaro, Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, Simon Fraser University

  • Stephanie Tam, Water Management Engineer, BC Ministry of Agriculture

  • Francis ZwiersDirector, Pacific Climate Impacts Consortium